New Volunteer Family Support Coordinators

The RNLI Families Programme was introduced in 2015 with the aim of improving the way the RNLI engages with and supports the families of its operational lifeboat station volunteers and staff.
RNLI St Ives Station and Volunteers

RNLI/Nigel Millard

Families that live with a pager make a significant contribution to saving lives at sea by supporting our lifeboat and shore crew even when the pager goes off at an inconvenient or inopportune moment.  It’s very important that, as an organisation, we acknowledge that contribution.

In the last two years, a series of initiatives have been introduced to help give something back to the families of our operational volunteers. These initiatives include, an annual contribution to a family event at lifeboat stations, an exclusive range of branded clothing for the children of volunteers and staff and access to Support 24/7.

The latest development in the Families Programme project is the introduction of new Volunteer Regional Family Support Coordinators. This new team of volunteers is responsible for promoting the Families Programme at stations and ensuring that all of our operational lifeboat station volunteers and staff know what is available to them and how to access it.

The new volunteers and their email addresses are listed below and they can be contacted by any operational volunteer or family member with questions, feedback or just for a chat.

Region Volunteer Email address
Ireland Lauren McGee Lauren_Mcgee@rnli.org.uk
Scotland (Areas 1, 2, 3 & 34) Samantha Rawlins Samantha_Rawlins@rnli.org.uk
Scotland (Areas 4, 32 & 33) Hannah Tebbutt Hannah_Tebbutt@rnli.org.uk
North and East Karen Cartwright Karen_Cartwright@rnli.org.uk
South East Andrew Backway Andrew_Backway@rnli.org.uk
South West Shirley Halford
Shirley_Halford@rnli.org.uk
Wales and West TBC Families_Programme@rnli.org.uk

If you would like to know more about the Families Programme or any of its initiatives please feel free to contact the volunteer for your area or email Esther Lowe, Families Programme Manager at families_programme@rnli.org.uk.